Gamma Phi Beta International Sorority

The Delta Omicron Chapter of Gamma Phi Beta was installed at Southern Polytechnic State University in Marietta, Georgia, on January 26, 1980.

Director of Expansion Lanier Selzer Moore (Southern Methodist, 1955) announced the colonization of the first sorority on campus when Beta Mu Chapter (Florida State) welcomed 13 at the conclusion of the Province VIII – Area Leadership Conference, on March 13, 1979, in Tallahassee, Florida, with over 100 Gamma Phi Beta sisters in attendance. Expansion Supervisor Karen L. Hedine (University of Washington), Alumnae Field Representative Dorothy Ray Johnson (Southern Methodist, 1955) and Collegiate Consultant Karma Burford (Iowa) were responsible for the extension period.

There were 15 collegians and 13 alumnae who were initiated at Powers Ferry Methodist Church by Gamma Phi Chapter (Auburn). The installation banquet was held at the Atlanta Athletic Club. Province VIII Alumnae Director Jean Brooks Oliver (Northwestern) presented the badge of Clara G. Reed Morgan (Syracuse, 1893) to become the permanent badge for Delta Omicron presidents, and Grand President Karen Wander Kline (Iowa State) presented the charter to the chapter.

I was initiated as a member into Gamma Phi Beta, Delta Omicron chapter in November 2013. In my experience as an active collegiate member, I learned about the values of life: 1. Love 2. Labor 3. Learning and 4. Loyalty. These core values are the foundations of sisterhood, hard work, learning and teaching, and being loyal to the cause and brand of the sorority.

Check out the gallery below of recruitment and sisterhood events throughout the years (2014-2016).