Follow the White Rabbit

Everyone knows the story of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (“Alice in Wonderland”), an original narrative written by Lewis Carroll in 1865. It is about a young girl who is bored with the norm and wishes that every day in life held a new adventure. The story begins with her sitting outside by a river with her sister reading a book that has no pictures where Alice wonders, “what is the use of the book without pictures and dialogue?,” and she quickly loses interest. In that moment, she notices a white rabbit wearing a waistcoat, standing upright, and looking at a pocket watch saying aloud, “Oh dear! Oh dear! I shall be too late.” Alice may not take notice of the fact that the rabbit is wearing clothes, standing upright or talking but she does wonder “what could a white rabbit possibly be late for?” Her curiosity motivates her to chase after the white rabbit and follow him right down a rabbit hole into an alternate realm called, Wonderland.

The narrative elements presented by David Herman in Basic Elements of Narrative can be used to freely describe any narrative structure. In this blog, I will discuss what the narrative elements are and how they relate to Alice in Wonderland, as well as, explaining the value of transmedia narrative in a comparative analysis between The Matrix, 1999 film produced by Joel Silver and Alice in Wonderland.

Continue reading “Follow the White Rabbit”

Eye of the Storm

By Brittany Rosario & Henry North

In Rachel and Miles X-Plain the X-Men Episode 45, “A Woman Who Could Fly,” the casting duo discuss various themes: Forge and the Adversary, the narrative impact of sexualization, the dynamic art stylings of Barry Windsor Smith, and colonialism. These themes are used in a character analysis of Ororo Munroe, better known as Storm, and her role in Uncanny X-Men #198: Life-Death II.

Continue reading “Eye of the Storm”


By: Eryka Martin, Britteney Arnold, & Brittany Rosario

Through reading Eagleman’s Sum, we determined that the most interesting short story in the series was ‘Metamorphosis’. It is an observation of the afterlife, where the audience is told that there are “three deaths”. In this blog, we comparatively analyze the three stages of death with the stages of a caterpillar’s metamorphosis.

Continue reading “Metamorphosis”